Skip to content

From Dorothea Lasky:

June 29, 2017

I don’t pity you
You big hot thing
I don’t feel pity for your arms
Which could hold me for a thousand hours

And you are careless, and ceaseless
Like you always are to everyone
I don’t feel pity
You have this poem, this book
I don’t feel pity
They will talk of you for a thousand years
You gorgeous spirit you
You crazy nothing
Blond hair and sublime torso
Smile more than a million men
A truly million dollar man
In greenish suit
Wild spirit, you
I love you
I love you when you’re rocking
I love you when you’re rocking
Always for me
But never for me
Always always
In the wind

– From I Feel Pity, Tin House

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

