Skip to content

Publication: Existere

July 15, 2016

i’m thrilled to say that one of my non-fiction pieces, The Sublet, is available in Existere 35.2.

.

Photo on 2016-07-15 at 9.41 AM

Photo on 2016-07-15 at 9.42 AM

.

they let me write about the weirdness and tenderness that occurs when you start sleeping with the person you’re subletting an apartment from, etc.

thanks, existere!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. academicalism permalink
    August 3, 2016 1:14 pm

    Congratulations on your publication in the current issue of Existere. As a fellow contributor to this issue (I think?), I look forward to reading your nonfiction piece. However, I haven’t yet received my copy of this issue, I can’t find it for sale anywhere, and my attempts to contact the editors this summer have gone unanswered. Your blog post is the only evidence I’ve found that the issue actually exists, so may I ask if you can simply tell me whether my piece (“Here is where was”) does in fact appear in this issue?

    • August 3, 2016 1:26 pm

      it does!

      • academicalism permalink
        August 3, 2016 1:30 pm

        Thanks so much for checking. In appreciation, I’ll follow up here soon with a more substantial comment on your piece.

  2. academicalism permalink
    September 7, 2016 5:21 pm

    So, having received my contributor’s copies, I’ve read “The Sublet” with interest. It’s a well paced, intense reflection on relationships (particularly, writers’ relationships), and the quotations of McCarthy add both texture and irony. The prose deploys some effective (and affecting) rhyme and alliteration (e.g. “ache / acuity / pain”; “concentrating / taciturn, cancels dates”) — and does so in the process of rendering otherwise abstract (or at least hard-to-articulate) states of feeling, and knowing, in sharp concrete detail, as in the visceral image of a throatful of ice. I also like the embedding of dialogue in italics, in the prose: it almost achieves a quality something like song lyric, presented that way. Thanks for the enjoyable and illuminating read.

Leave a Reply

