Skip to content

From Chris Urquhart:

August 10, 2012

“I know how you feel– in a very real, deep and constant way. I’m obsessed with being “too much.” I’ve always been obsessed with being “too much.” I feel fear constantly. What neurotic, engaged creator doesn’t? The only advice I can give you here is to literally accept the worst– accept the idea that you will be alone, unloved, eternally damned and doomed to play the same vicious piano concerto in your head, over and over, until you croak. Run directly into the fear, smash into it, experience it all. Accept it all– embody it all, become it all. It is only when I allow my biggest fears full dominion can I get past them, understand them, respect what they mean in regards to my karmic past, my deeper journey. See the unseeable behind your spiny ego. There are reasons why these feelings exist within us, why we respond the ways we do. This does not mean we have to self flagellate– in fact, quite the opposite. Do not wallow, do not put a microscope atop youy perceived weaknesses. Listen. Fight. Learn the art of self care. Realize this is a blip on the radar. Learn to love yourself at your lowest, all alone.”

 

– The inimitable Chris Urquhart, in response to a discussion about fears of being too much. If you have time, you can listen to Chris (alias Birdgirl) read some of her work and talk about being a writer in electronic residence if you click here. It’s soothing and I like it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 11, 2012 12:06 pm

    Amen, sister. Love to both of my ladies from someone who is constantly learning to love herself.

Leave a Reply

