Skip to content

From Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

July 31, 2012

“Your mother and  never talk about that past, that’s a rule. I go to the door when she’s using the bathroom, and she never looks over my shoulder when I’m writing, those are two more rules. I open doors for her but I never touch her back as she passes through, she never lets me watch her cook, she folds my pants but leaves my shirts by the ironing board, I never light candles when she’s in the room, but I do blow candles out. It’s a rule that we never listen to sad music, we made that rule early on, songs are as sad as the listener, we hardly ever listen to music. I change the sheets every morning to wash away my writing, we never sleep in the same bed twice ..”

– Jonathan Safran Foer

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

