Skip to content

hi-res.

December 30, 2010

i fucking hate new year’s eve. it’s forced frivolity, forced festivity. i’m completely content to curl up on my couch with a bottle of sparkling and homemade hors d’oeuvres and watch movie after movie on new year’s tv. i really don’t like the pressure that is applied to this night. i probably like it even less than valentine’s day – which is something coming from a perpetual singleton. (valentine’s day means cheap candy the day after. hello.)

but since this year (2011) is the year of the rabbit, and i am the year of the rabbit (1987) i figure that there is meaning in there somewhere and so i should have resolutions.

i’m an uptight person and so in honour of my thesis and my gay angel muse and the ridiculous black dress i bought the other day that shows off my arse to perfection, i have decided that my resolutions should be as ridiculous and over-the-top as i can make them. and so they are as follows:

 

– go to burning man.

– grow my hair long enough to tie scarves into, to braid feathers in.

– play clarinet once onstage again. perhaps even with a gypsy punk band if shit shapes up.

– do karaoke without the need of alcohol.

– think locally, fuck globally.

– polka in public, not just at malanka.

– do an unassisted headstand.

– decide on my next travel location. (germany? norway? sweden? morocco? russia?)

– have more sex and be less uptight about it.

– free my throat chakra so the heart will follow.

– read many more books (everything is illuminated, the age of innocence, ascension, harperland, queer london, bowie in berlin, the bible.)

– buy books of poetry in anticipation of when the books go out of print in favour of the kindle.

– dance down the street at least once with my earphones in, uncaring of people staring.

– try another instrument to see if the lateral musical mind truly exists.

– have a dance floor make out. (truth: i have never had a DFMO.)

– get a raven to eat from my windowsill with the window open.

– do mdma.

– pierce something new.

– finish my bloody thesis and finish it goooooooooooddddddd.

– consider taking a welding course.

– attend a milonga that karen has tried to get me to do before and actually try dancing in front of someone. (major fear, to dance in public.)

– sketch out a tattoo with ravens.

– wear feathers and quartz.

– submit my pieces to publications for once.

– go fishing again and fillet well.

Look like this on a daily basis, of course. (Photo courtesy of Marwa Abdou.)

 

– give less of a fuck. be bolder than i have ever been. have the energy and the anger to tell people – to their faces – when they are hurting me, offending me, saying the wrong thing, and feel good about it and my agency. be an agent, not a patient. refuse passivity. submit submit submit in more ways than once. try to roll with it. be rude and be open. make men bend to the will of the redheaded green eyed. be compassionate. listen.


plan less. kiss more.


6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2010 9:32 pm

    “think locally, fuck globally”– probably my favourite anna resolution.

    also, i can take care of burning man, throat chakra, feathers and (of course) mdma. i can also make out with you. on the dance floor.

    bye!

    • December 31, 2010 7:05 am

      i can’t take credit for that phrase, unfortunately. it’s a gogol bordello song!

      and yes, yes, yes, yes and yes for the latter part of your message.

  2. name-me permalink
    December 31, 2010 1:25 am

    Next travel location Finland maybe?

    Lovely piece…. makes me reconsider my stance against new years resolutions.
    Fuck globally here 🙂

    Hugs

    • December 31, 2010 7:06 am

      finland. finland. finland is now on my list, ames. can you take me into a sauna with you? i will spoon you in your bed with my pants on inside out and one boot on!

Trackbacks

  1. the resolution half-way point CHECK IN. « everywhere leonine.
  2. the resolutions. « everywhere leonine.

Leave a Reply

